Parliament Website

Centenary Of The British Ecological Society

EDM number 277 in 2013-14, proposed by Andrew Miller on 18/06/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Environmental protection, Nature conservation and Science.

That this House congratulates the British Ecological Society on its centenary in 2013; notes that the Society is the oldest such ecology organisation in the world and the largest in Europe; further notes the Society's enormous contribution to the development of ecology over the past hundred years; welcomes the Society's commitment to advancing the science of ecology and communicating ecological science to right hon. and hon. Members on all sides of the House so that environmental policies can be based on sound scientific evidence; further notes the launch of its important new document about the impact of extreme weather events on freshwater ecosystems at an event being held in the Members' Dining Room on 25 June 2013; and further welcomes the Society's efforts to engage members of the public with ecological science through its Festival of Ecology during June 2013.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Andrew Miller18/06/2013Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourProposed
Julian Huppert18/06/2013CambridgeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Stephen Metcalfe18/06/2013South Basildon and East ThurrockConservativeSeconded
Adrian Sanders19/06/2013TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon19/06/2013StrangfordDUPSeconded
Alan Meale19/06/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Martin Caton19/06/2013GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin19/06/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/06/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson19/06/2013BlaydonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/06/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell20/06/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/06/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson24/06/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
George Galloway24/06/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
George Howarth25/06/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas25/06/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Andrew George25/06/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech25/06/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long26/06/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Virendra Sharma26/06/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd27/06/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Annette Brooke27/06/2013Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley03/07/2013Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mary Glindon04/07/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
David Crausby18/07/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.