Parliament Website

Tax Havens

EDM number 476 in 2013-14, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 04/09/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Overseas territories and Taxation.

That this House notes with concern that one in five tax havens worldwide are under UK jurisdiction; further notes that although all the British Overseas Territories have committed to joining the Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters, none have actually done so and no time-frame has been set in which they will do so; further notes that the island of Sark, where income tax is set at zero per cent will not come under the new agreement signed by Guernsey so will be exempt from oversight on beneficial ownership; believes that clarification on when the register of beneficial ownership will come into force, which British Overseas Territories will sign up to the Register and whether it will be publicly accessible is required as a matter of urgency; observes that while the automatic sharing of tax information will aid transparency, it will not in itself alter the tax regimes which made these territories attractive to companies and individuals aiming to minimise their taxes; and calls on the Government to take action both domestically and internationally to tackle the use of tax havens by multinational companies and individuals operating in the UK or in territories under its jurisdiction.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Roger Godsiff04/09/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourProposed
Bob Russell04/09/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan04/09/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley04/09/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins09/09/2013Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn09/09/2013Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie10/09/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John McDonnell10/09/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Meale10/09/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards10/09/2013Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/09/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy11/09/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
John Leech11/09/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark11/09/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Mike Hancock11/09/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne11/09/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Andrew George12/09/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell12/09/2013Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming12/09/2013Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams15/10/2013ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Naomi Long15/10/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
John Robertson05/11/2013Glasgow North WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.