Parliament Website

US Congress Vote Against Military Action In Syria

EDM number 486 in 2013-14, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 05/09/2013.
Categorised under the topics of International politics and government, Middle East and Military operations.

That this House welcomes the announcement of the Prime Minister ruling out UK participation in military action against Syria following the Parliamentary vote of 29 August 2013; believes the Syrian conflict desperately needs a peaceful resolution since military action on the part of the UK or US would result in further death and destruction of innocent lives, increase mistrust between forces in the region and the wider world, and escalate the violence further; values the UK-US relationship which it believes is built on much more than a military alliance; and therefore urges members of the US Congress to reject military action and support an immediate ceasefire and peace talks involving all sides in the Syrian conflict.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn05/09/2013Islington NorthLabourProposed
Caroline Lucas05/09/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
John McDonnell05/09/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Fabian Hamilton05/09/2013Leeds North EastLabourSeconded
David Anderson05/09/2013BlaydonLabourSeconded
David Ward05/09/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jonathan Edwards05/09/2013Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams05/09/2013ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Dobbin05/09/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Cryer05/09/2013Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd05/09/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Joan Ruddock05/09/2013Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
George Galloway06/09/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Grahame Morris09/09/2013EasingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/09/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn09/09/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
Mark Durkan09/09/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/09/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan09/09/2013Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon10/09/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Hywel Francis10/09/2013AberavonLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/09/2013GowerLabourSigned
Jim Shannon10/09/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie10/09/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/09/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Meacher11/09/2013Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/09/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Leech11/09/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Natascha Engel12/09/2013North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
David Crausby12/09/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mike Wood13/09/2013Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Julian Huppert08/10/2013CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma08/10/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Mark Williams08/10/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Mulholland08/10/2013Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Robertson08/10/2013Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Graham Stringer08/10/2013Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff08/10/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Naomi Long15/10/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Lady Hermon16/10/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Lindsay Roy17/10/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
Paul Burstow28/10/2013Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark11/11/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.