Parliament Website

House Of Lords (Cessation Of Membership) Bill

EDM number 88 in 2013-14, proposed by Eleanor Laing on 14/05/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Legislative process and Members of the Lords.

That this House notes that the House of Lords (Cessation of Membership) Bill (HL) which was passed by the House of Lords and introduced in this House during the last session of Parliament made provision for peers to cease to be members of the House of Lords by way of retirement or in the event of non-attendance or criminal conviction; recognises that these reforms are both necessary and reasonable; and hopes that the Bill will be re-introduced either by the Government or by individual hon. Members in the current session.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Eleanor Laing14/05/2013Epping ForestConservativeProposed
Graham Brady14/05/2013Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley14/05/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale15/05/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Andrew George15/05/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
James Gray15/05/2013North WiltshireConservativeSeconded
Stephen Metcalfe15/05/2013South Basildon and East ThurrockConservativeSigned
Robin Walker15/05/2013WorcesterConservativeSigned
Andrew Stephenson15/05/2013PendleConservativeSigned
Andrew Griffiths15/05/2013BurtonConservativeSigned
Stephen Williams15/05/2013Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Yeo15/05/2013South SuffolkConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson15/05/2013Hornchurch and UpminsterConservativeSigned
Naomi Long15/05/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Bob Russell15/05/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
John Redwood15/05/2013WokinghamConservativeSigned
Greg Mulholland15/05/2013Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds16/05/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Mike Weatherley16/05/2013HoveConservativeSigned
Mark Williams20/05/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer20/05/2013Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley20/05/2013York CentralLabourSigned
Glyn Davies21/05/2013MontgomeryshireConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon21/05/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Martin Caton21/05/2013GowerLabourSigned
Mike Gapes21/05/2013Ilford SouthLabourSigned
David Blunkett21/05/2013Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Julian Lewis03/06/2013New Forest EastConservativeSigned
William Cash04/06/2013StoneConservativeSigned
David Ward04/06/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech11/06/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Ottaway12/06/2013Croydon SouthConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.