Parliament Website

Environment Agency Budget

EDM number 947 in 2013-14, proposed by David Anderson on 14/01/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Environmental protection and Flooding.

That this House commends the excellent work undertaken by staff employed at the Environment Agency in dealing with recent flooding incidents; recognises however that Environment Agency staff do a lot more than dealing with just the prevention and aftermath of flood incidents; further recognises that this wide range of responsibilities are essential in safeguarding the country's environment from harm and includes water quality oversight, pollution control, waste regulation, fisheries management, conservation and ecology, navigation, contaminated land and flood and coastal risk management; notes that the Environment Agency has had its budgets cut yet again which will lead to 1,500 jobs being lost, around 15 per cent of the total workforce; further notes that, with some spending ring-fenced by the Government, the effect of these further cuts will impact disproportionately on non-protected areas like the prevention and prosecution of waste crime, monitoring and protection of migratory fish, pollution management and work with planning authorities to ensure environmental safeguards are in place for new development; believes that as a result, communities will be put at risk of environmental harm through the significant reductions in services currently provided and is a licence to pollute; and further believes that the Government should implement an immediate moratorium on any cuts and recognise that the cost of responding to incidents of harm is much greater than the effective prevention the Environment Agency provides and the cuts will compromise.

This motion has been signed by a total of 64 MPs.

David Anderson14/01/2014BlaydonLabourProposed
Jim Dobbin15/01/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell15/01/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner15/01/2014BolsoverLabourSeconded
Martin Caton15/01/2014GowerLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn15/01/2014Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery16/01/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Alan Meale16/01/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/01/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff21/01/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne21/01/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas21/01/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
John McDonnell22/01/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
George Howarth28/01/2014KnowsleyLabourSigned
George Galloway05/02/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned
Gerald Kaufman10/02/2014Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden11/02/2014Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Dave Watts11/02/2014St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz12/02/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan12/02/2014Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Graham Stringer12/02/2014Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris12/02/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham12/02/2014Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Clive Betts13/02/2014Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Joan Walley13/02/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock13/02/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
David Crausby13/02/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Frank Field13/02/2014BirkenheadLabourSigned
Frank Doran13/02/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield24/02/2014Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Geraint Davies24/02/2014Swansea WestLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham24/02/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Katy Clark24/02/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim McGovern24/02/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Ian Davidson24/02/2014Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Michael Connarty24/02/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Natascha Engel24/02/2014North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice24/02/2014LivingstonLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz24/02/2014Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
David Blunkett24/02/2014Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood24/02/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Andrew Love24/02/2014EdmontonLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell24/02/2014Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Ian Mearns24/02/2014GatesheadLabourSigned
Mike Wood24/02/2014Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman24/02/2014HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Dai Havard24/02/2014Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Frank Dobson24/02/2014Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Chris Williamson25/02/2014Derby NorthLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd26/02/2014Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Sarah Champion26/02/2014RotherhamLabourSigned
Andrew Miller27/02/2014Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
John Baron27/02/2014Basildon and BillericayConservativeSigned
John Mann05/03/2014BassetlawLabourSigned
Robert Flello05/03/2014Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Kevin Barron06/03/2014Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley06/03/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn10/03/2014JarrowLabourSigned
Michael Meacher12/03/2014Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper12/03/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton12/03/2014Leeds North EastLabourSigned
George Mudie17/03/2014Leeds EastLabourSigned
Mike Gapes07/04/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly30/04/2014Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.