Parliament Website

Regulation Of Bus Services And Public Ownership Models

EDM number 162 in 2014-15, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 23/06/2014.
Categorised under the topic of Buses.

That this House believes the 1985 deregulation of bus services outside London has been a disaster for passengers, the taxpayer and bus workers; notes that profit-making private bus operators continue to benefit from public subsidy that makes up 44 per cent of funding in the industry; further notes that bus passengers in England outside London have been hit with a 39.6 per cent real terms fare rise since 1995, with average bus fares more than doubling in cash terms; is dismayed that despite buses accounting for two thirds of all journeys on public transport, including lifeline services for schoolchildren, pensioners and jobseekers, there has been a 17 per cent fall since 2011 in supported bus service mileage in England; condemns the Government spending cuts that are having a devastating effect on vital bus services; and calls on the Government to reverse these cuts and commission an independent review of the bus industry including the options of regulating all commercial bus services and of public ownership and other not-for-profit service models, with the aim of delivering frequent, reliable services and low cost bus fares.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Caroline Lucas23/06/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Paul Flynn23/06/2014Newport WestLabourSeconded
John McDonnell23/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn23/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Andrew George23/06/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jonathan Edwards24/06/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Martin Caton24/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell25/06/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Graham Stringer25/06/2014Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Annette Brooke25/06/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders25/06/2014TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma25/06/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
David Heyes25/06/2014Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Mary Glindon26/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin30/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Alan Meale30/06/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Doran01/07/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Ian Mearns03/07/2014GatesheadLabourSigned
David Crausby08/07/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
George Galloway10/07/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.