Parliament Website

Early Diagnosis Of Diabetes

EDM number 19 in 2014-15, proposed by Adrian Sanders on 04/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Health education and preventive medicine and Health services.

That this House recognises the importance of early diagnosis of diabetes in order to bring the condition under control and prevent life threatening and expensive complications; notes the work of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Diabetes, working in partnership with Sir Michael Hirst and the International Diabetes Federation, to offer blood glucose testing on the Parliamentary Estate in March 2014 that resulted in over 145 people, hon. Members, peers and staff, taking the test; wishes to thank the nurses who volunteered their time to do this under the direction of Anne Felton of FEND (Foundation of European Nurses in Diabetes); and calls on the Government to do all in its power to encourage more diagnostic testing for diabetes in workplaces and community settings across the country.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Adrian Sanders04/06/2014TorbayLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley04/06/2014Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan04/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Bob Russell04/06/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn04/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins04/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon05/06/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Keith Vaz09/06/2014Leicester EastLabourSigned
Andrew George09/06/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale09/06/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell09/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
John Leech09/06/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark09/06/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie09/06/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Farrelly10/06/2014Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin10/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd11/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Paisley Jnr11/06/2014North AntrimDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds11/06/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
William McCrea11/06/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Jimmy Hood11/06/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/06/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Crausby12/06/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Paul Flynn12/06/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Ian Lavery12/06/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy12/06/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
David Ward12/06/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams16/06/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
George Mudie16/06/2014Leeds EastLabourSigned
Albert Owen16/06/2014Ynys MLabourSigned
Mike Hancock17/06/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern17/06/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Ian Mearns03/07/2014GatesheadLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.