Parliament Website

Local Government And School Support Workers' Pay

EDM number 212 in 2014-15, proposed by David Anderson on 03/07/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Local government and Pay.

That this House recognises that local government and school support workers provide an excellent and essential service to the public; expresses concern about levels of local government pay; further recognises that local government workers have endured a real terms 18 per cent reduction in basic pay since 2010; believes that low pay in local government is resulting in significant economic hardship for them and their families; supports the National Joint Council (NJC) pay claim for 2014-15; notes that this would deliver the Living Wage for the 500,000 lowest paid local government workers; further notes that 55 per cent of the cost of the claim could be met through increased tax and national insurance income and reduced spending on in-work-benefits; and therefore calls on local government employers to accept the NJC claim and offer a pay award which includes an emphasis on fair rewards for the lowest paid and hard-pressed sections of the workforce.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

David Anderson03/07/2014BlaydonLabourProposed
Jim Dobbin07/07/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins07/07/2014Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Meale07/07/2014MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn07/07/2014Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan08/07/2014HalifaxLabourSeconded
Tom Watson08/07/2014West Bromwich EastLabourSigned
Hywel Francis08/07/2014AberavonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/07/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Dai Havard08/07/2014Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Diane Abbott08/07/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
David Crausby08/07/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Bill Esterson08/07/2014Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Mark Durkan08/07/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma08/07/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood09/07/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff09/07/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Chris Williamson09/07/2014Derby NorthLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham09/07/2014Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan09/07/2014Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram09/07/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/07/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie09/07/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Frank Doran09/07/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell09/07/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Joan Walley10/07/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
George Galloway10/07/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned
Mary Glindon10/07/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Jim McGovern14/07/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Graham Stringer14/07/2014Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock14/07/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Paul Flynn14/07/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock15/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
George Mudie15/07/2014Leeds EastLabourSigned
Ian Lavery15/07/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/07/2014GowerLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne16/07/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi16/07/2014Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Mike Gapes16/07/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper21/07/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
Grahame Morris22/07/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
Peter Hain09/09/2014NeathLabourSigned
John Leech09/09/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.