Parliament Website

Statue Of Mahatma Gandhi In Parliament Square

EDM number 242 in 2014-15, proposed by Keith Vaz on 09/07/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Art works, Asia, Cultural heritage and International politics and government.

That this House welcomes the announcement by the Chancellor of the Exchequer on his visit to India that there will be a statue of Mahatma Gandhi in Parliament Square; recognises that this is the culmination of a long campaign to honour this great man; notes that there are two other statues of Mahatma Gandhi in Tavistock Square and Belgrave Road in Leicester; and considers that a suitable location would be between the statues of Peel and Disraeli and near Nelson Mandela, with the Supreme Court behind him and facing Big Ben.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Keith Vaz09/07/2014Leicester EastLabourProposed
Michael Connarty09/07/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley09/07/2014Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan09/07/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George09/07/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Angus MacNeil10/07/2014Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Meale10/07/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie14/07/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim McGovern14/07/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/07/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick14/07/2014PrestonLabourSigned
John Leech15/07/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark15/07/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff15/07/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Shannon15/07/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Mike Hancock15/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/07/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/07/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram16/07/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma16/07/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
David Ward16/07/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton16/07/2014GowerLabourSigned
Bob Blackman16/07/2014Harrow EastConservativeSigned
David Crausby16/07/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley16/07/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Annette Brooke17/07/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell17/07/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/07/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Valerie Vaz21/07/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy01/09/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Diane Abbott01/09/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.