Parliament Website

An Independent Aircraft Noise Ombudsman

EDM number 46 in 2014-15, proposed by David Lammy on 05/06/2014.
Categorised under the topic of Aviation.

That this House recognises that, for those who live near major airports, aircraft noise can be an imposition; believes that a fresh approach to tackling aircraft noise must be adopted in order to give such people confidence that their legitimate grievances are being addressed; echoes the Campaign Statement published jointly by Let Britain Fly, the Heathrow Association for the Control of Aircraft Noise and London First advocating the establishment of the role of an independent aircraft noise ombudsman; endorses the recommendation in the Davies Commission Interim Report of 17 December 2013 of the creation of an independent aviation noise authority (IANA); and urges the Government, when the Department of Transport issues its response to the Davies Interim Report, to publish both a timetable setting out how it will create an IANA and its plans for securing cross-Party endorsement of the backing for this initiative.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

David Lammy05/06/2014TottenhamLabourProposed
Bob Blackman05/06/2014Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Julian Huppert05/06/2014CambridgeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Katy Clark09/06/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
John McDonnell09/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale09/06/2014MansfieldLabourSeconded
Martin Caton10/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin10/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon10/06/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd11/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
William McCrea11/06/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Paul Flynn12/06/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Caroline Spelman17/06/2014MeridenConservativeSigned
Jim Dowd17/06/2014Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Kate Hoey17/06/2014VauxhallLabourSigned
Peter Lilley17/06/2014Hitchin and HarpendenConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock17/06/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams17/06/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Thornton17/06/2014EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders17/06/2014TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Dobson18/06/2014Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Diane Abbott18/06/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Naomi Long18/06/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Michael Connarty18/06/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick18/06/2014Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Michael Crockart19/06/2014Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson23/06/2014BlaydonLabourSigned
Mike Gapes23/06/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood23/06/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
David Amess23/06/2014Southend WestConservativeSigned
Martin Horwood23/06/2014CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Zac Goldsmith26/06/2014Richmond ParkConservativeSigned
Tim Yeo26/06/2014South SuffolkConservativeSigned
Mike Wood30/06/2014Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Frank Doran03/07/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham07/07/2014WorkingtonLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi16/07/2014Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell22/07/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.