Parliament Website

Reductions In Staffing On East Coast And Great Western Rail Services

EDM number 584 in 2014-15, proposed by Frank Dobson on 01/12/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Industrial health and safety and Railways.

That this House notes with concern that government and train operating company plans for implementing the multibillion pound Intercity Express rolling stock programme which will ultimately be funded by the taxpayer and fare-payer could see significant staffing cuts on East Coast and Great Western services; is dismayed that new rolling stock being introduced from 2017 could have the buffet car removed, meaning that hot food and meals will only be available in first class whilst other passengers will be forced to rely on a trolley-only service for long, often crowded, journeys so more seats can be crammed onto inter-city services, and perturbed that this upstairs-downstairs catering service is under consideration when passengers already pay the highest rail fares in Europe; is alarmed that driver only operation is also proposed for this rolling stock which would downgrade the train guard's safety operational role and increase risks to passengers by restricting responsibility for safe operation of the train to the driver; further notes that passenger safety and service will be further jeopardised if the new rolling stock is used as cover for de-staffing stations, particularly train dispatch staff; further notes the threat to skilled maintenance workers' jobs in these proposals which would further impact on passenger safety and service and exacerbate the rail industry skills crisis; and calls on the Government to reject any contracts for East Coast and Great Western services which propose any such cuts to rail staff.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

Frank Dobson01/12/2014Holborn and St PancrasLabourProposed
John McDonnell01/12/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns01/12/2014GatesheadLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery01/12/2014WansbeckLabourSeconded
Geraint Davies01/12/2014Swansea WestLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham01/12/2014Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris01/12/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
Katy Clark01/12/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn01/12/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ian Davidson01/12/2014Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley01/12/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Graeme Morrice01/12/2014LivingstonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/12/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton02/12/2014GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale02/12/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner02/12/2014BolsoverLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson02/12/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Liz McInnes02/12/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Graham Stringer02/12/2014Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Diane Abbott03/12/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Michael Weir03/12/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/12/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell03/12/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma03/12/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram04/12/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon04/12/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Jim McGovern05/12/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas08/12/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
David Crausby08/12/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Paul Murphy10/12/2014TorfaenLabourSigned
Mike Gapes11/12/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff15/12/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman16/12/2014HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley16/12/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Anne Begg16/12/2014Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz17/12/2014Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Frank Doran18/12/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Sarah Champion18/12/2014RotherhamLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood07/01/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Mike Wood09/01/2015Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Michael Connarty13/01/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson27/01/2015Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Chris Williamson28/01/2015Derby NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn29/01/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Paul Flynn29/01/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Alan Johnson29/01/2015Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan03/02/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Francis04/02/2015AberavonLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman04/02/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
David Anderson09/02/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Linda Riordan09/02/2015HalifaxLabourSigned
George Galloway11/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Roger Williams24/02/2015Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Evans04/03/2015IslwynLabourSigned
George Mudie18/03/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
Stephen Gilbert24/03/2015St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George25/03/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.