Parliament Website

Kurdistan Emergency Appeal

EDM number 613 in 2014-15, proposed by David Anderson on 10/12/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Asylum, Ethnic groups, International development, International politics and government, Iraq and Middle East.

That this House warmly welcomes the Kurdistan Emergency Appeal launched by the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) UK representation, the Kurdish community and the All-Party Parliamentary Group on the Kurdistan region; notes that the appeal for funds and goods, such as blankets, has been necessitated by the presence in Kurdistan, whose population is normally five million people, of about 1.5 million refugees and internally displaced people, most of whom arrived with nothing to their name; recognises that the KRG has sought urgently to provide shelter but this has been stymied by an Iraqi federal government decision this year to cut budget payments to the region, UN funding shortfalls and bureaucracy; is concerned that deaths will result from the coming cold winter and rains; and commends the appeal as allowing the British public and the Kurdish diaspora once again to contribute directly to relieving the plight of those escaping from the so-called Islamic State.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

David Anderson10/12/2014BlaydonLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins11/12/2014Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon11/12/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mary Glindon11/12/2014North TynesideLabourSeconded
Fabian Hamilton11/12/2014Leeds North EastLabourSeconded
George Howarth11/12/2014KnowsleyLabourSeconded
Mike Gapes11/12/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Alan Meale15/12/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson15/12/2014Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Mike Hancock15/12/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon15/12/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/12/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/12/2014GowerLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma16/12/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
David Crausby17/12/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds17/12/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/12/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/12/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff17/12/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne17/12/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland17/12/2014Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil18/12/2014Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Liz McInnes05/01/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram05/01/2015Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell06/01/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
John Leech08/01/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.