Parliament Website

Fines And Compensation Enforcement

EDM number 615 in 2014-15, proposed by Elfyn Llwyd on 10/12/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Courts, Crime, Employment, Financial services, Homelessness and Alternatives to prison.

That this House applauds the work of staff in the National Crime Enforcement Service who have continued to improve collection rates of fines and compensation set by the criminal courts despite cuts to staff; welcomes moves to give staff access to data held on defaulters by HM Revenue and Customs to help further improve collection rates; notes that it is not always possible to recover every debt due to insufficient information on the defaulter being available or because of their personal circumstances such as homelessness; is alarmed by reports from Citizens Advice Bureau regarding the behaviour of poorly regulated private bailiffs who fall short of public sector collection rates of 2013 and are only collecting 22.7 per cent of fines arising from distress warrants in full; is concerned that the Government is seeking to use uncollected fines as a reason for privatising this well performing public service; and urges the Government to scrap its plans to privatise under the Compliance and Enforcement Service Project.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Elfyn Llwyd10/12/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
John McDonnell10/12/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery10/12/2014WansbeckLabourSeconded
David Anderson10/12/2014BlaydonLabourSeconded
Mike Wood10/12/2014Batley and SpenLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn10/12/2014Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Albert Owen10/12/2014Ynys MLabourSigned
Jim Shannon11/12/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins11/12/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale15/12/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Mike Hancock15/12/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon15/12/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Martin Caton16/12/2014GowerLabourSigned
Hywel Williams16/12/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff17/12/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Bob Russell17/12/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne17/12/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/12/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Crausby17/12/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Leech08/01/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes09/01/2015Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Mark Hunter14/01/2015CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Meacher22/01/2015Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Kevin Barron27/01/2015Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn29/01/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Graham Stringer09/02/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Frank Doran12/02/2015Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Roger Williams27/02/2015Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.