Parliament Website

Imprisonment Of Human Rights Activists In Mauritania

EDM number 701 in 2014-15, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 15/01/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, Human rights and International politics and government.

That this House condemns in the strongest possible terms the two year prison sentences given to three anti-slavery activists in Mauritania from the Haratin ethnic group, including 2013 UN Human Rights Prize laureate and 2014 Mauritanian Presidential runner-up Mr Biram Abeid, Mr Brahim Ould Bilal Ramdane and Djiby Sow; strongly supports the rights of these and other individuals to peacefully protest and work unhindered towards eradicating contemporary forms of slavery in Mauritania; is deeply concerned about the potential ramifications of such convictions on both the Mauritanian and global fight against contemporary forms of slavery, something to which the UK is a prominent leader; notes the reports that the defendants' non-governmental organisations (NGOs) headquarters have been forcibly closed since 12 November 2014; recognises the important role NGOs play in this regard; is dismayed about allegations of the defendants' pre-trial detention treatment, including sleep deprivation, denial of medical care and not being allowed family visits and of some detainees having been forced to sign false confessions; is therefore troubled by the multiple charges levelled against them and concerned that they may not have received a fair trial; and calls on the Government to urgently raise these cases with the Mauritanian government, to work with its EU partners in the country to bring an end to slavery and landowners' exploitation of marginalised sections of society, to raise this issue with the UN High Commissioner on Human Rights and to push for much needed land reforms.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn15/01/2015Islington NorthLabourProposed
Mike Hancock20/01/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale21/01/2015MansfieldLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell21/01/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon21/01/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd21/01/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Martin Caton21/01/2015GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/01/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley21/01/2015York CentralLabourSigned
John Leech22/01/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Marsden22/01/2015Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Liz McInnes22/01/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon22/01/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz22/01/2015Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Bob Russell22/01/2015ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Lavery22/01/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Paul Flynn22/01/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins26/01/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson27/01/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Lady Hermon28/01/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Caroline Lucas04/02/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Andrew Stunell05/02/2015Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Jimmy Hood23/02/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock23/02/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Kate Hoey23/02/2015VauxhallLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson24/02/2015East AntrimDUPSigned
Martin Horwood02/03/2015CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Sarah Champion04/03/2015RotherhamLabourSigned
Naomi Long05/03/2015Belfast EastAllianceSigned
John Hemming18/03/2015Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.