Parliament Website

Change To Rules On Submitting New Evidence In Asylum Cases

EDM number 714 in 2014-15, proposed by Julian Huppert on 20/01/2015.
Categorised under the topic of Asylum.

That this House expresses concern that the Home Office has made a rule change, due to be enforced on 26 January 2015, that asylum seekers who have been refused leave to remain will have to submit evidence in person in Liverpool regarding their case, regardless of where they are living; notes that asylum seekers who have been refused leave to remain can under current arrangements present evidence at a local centre; further notes that this means it is more affordable for charities, other organisations and individuals to help pay for an asylum seeker's travel fare or volunteer to take somebody who cannot use public transport due to a disability or other reasons; expresses further concern that the rule change will make it much harder for asylum seekers to present evidence which may be crucial to correctly resolving their case; and urges the Government to abandon this rule change and ensure that people seeking protection in the UK are able to present evidence relating to their case.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Julian Huppert20/01/2015CambridgeLiberal DemocratProposed
Sarah Teather20/01/2015Brent CentralLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan20/01/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mike Hancock20/01/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley20/01/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Margaret Ritchie21/01/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Elfyn Llwyd21/01/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Caton21/01/2015GowerLabourSigned
Naomi Long21/01/2015Belfast EastAllianceSigned
John McDonnell21/01/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon22/01/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Frank Doran22/01/2015Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
John Leech22/01/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh22/01/2015SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn22/01/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Bob Russell22/01/2015ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/01/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Tom Harris26/01/2015Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders26/01/2015TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Gerald Kaufman26/01/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Andrew George27/01/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Mulholland28/01/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas28/01/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Roger Godsiff28/01/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne28/01/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
David Wright28/01/2015TelfordLabourSigned
David Ward28/01/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Thornton29/01/2015EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz29/01/2015Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock02/02/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley02/02/2015York CentralLabourSigned
Ann McKechin02/02/2015Glasgow NorthLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe03/02/2015Bradford SouthLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield04/02/2015Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore04/02/2015Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Geraint Davies04/02/2015Swansea WestLabourSigned
Mark Williams04/02/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Meacher05/02/2015Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell05/02/2015Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
George Mudie10/02/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
George Galloway11/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Barry Sheerman23/02/2015HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Liz McInnes25/02/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Eilidh Whiteford26/02/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil26/02/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.