Parliament Website

Wage Inequality

EDM number 754 in 2014-15, proposed by Iain McKenzie on 03/02/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Equality and Pay.

That this House notes that the average FTSE 100 CEO is now paid 143 times as much as their average employee; recalls that as recently as 1998 this ratio was only 47 to 1; further notes that in some cases in the UK this ratio is now as high as 800 to 1; is aware that this is happening at a time when average wages are little better than stagnant; is concerned that such inequality damages the social fabric and indeed democracy itself; believes that such inequalities, which have only recently developed, have no economic justification; further notes that the High Pay Centre has called for a debate on more radical measures to address the widening income discrepancy in the UK, including introducing a maximum pay ratio and appointing workers' representatives to company boards; commends Switzerland for offering its people a vote, in November 2013, on capping executive pay at 12 times what the lowest-paid worker at a company received; and urges the Government to consider measures that would reduce such gross inequalities in the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Iain McKenzie03/02/2015InverclydeLabourProposed
Steve Rotheram04/02/2015Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Graeme Morrice04/02/2015LivingstonLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan04/02/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Dennis Skinner05/02/2015BolsoverLabourSeconded
Liz McInnes05/02/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Frank Roy05/02/2015Motherwell and WishawLabourSigned
David Anderson05/02/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris05/02/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood09/02/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards10/02/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Gerald Howarth10/02/2015AldershotConservativeSigned
David Crausby10/02/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mike Hancock10/02/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Robertson10/02/2015Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie10/02/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim McGovern11/02/2015Dundee WestLabourSigned
Chris Williamson11/02/2015Derby NorthLabourSigned
Ian Lavery11/02/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
George Galloway11/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Virendra Sharma11/02/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Leech11/02/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea11/02/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
George Howarth11/02/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/02/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/02/2015GowerLabourSigned
Mary Glindon12/02/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Frank Doran12/02/2015Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley23/02/2015York CentralLabourSigned
Katy Clark23/02/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas03/03/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Michael Connarty10/03/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.