Parliament Website

Statelessness And Terrorism Laws In Bahrain

EDM number 800 in 2014-15, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 12/02/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and Middle East.

That this House is appalled at the decision by Bahrain to revoke the nationality of over 100 human rights defenders, doctors, journalists, bloggers and ex-parliamentarians since 2012 and most recently in January 2015 when it revoked the citizenship of 72 individuals; is concerned that this decision has made many individuals stateless; believes that amendments in Bahrain's anti-terror and nationality laws are being used to arbitrarily target activists and members of the opposition; notes the lack of respect these reprisals show for a democratic system; further notes the 2015 Annual Human Rights Watch Report detailing severe human rights abuses by Bahrain throughout 2014; further notes Amnesty International's reports and statements detailing frequent human rights abuses since the uprising of 2011; calls on Bahrain to end immediately its human rights abuses and repeal repressive laws; and urges the Foreign and Commonwealth Office to list Bahrain as a country of concern in its upcoming human rights report.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn12/02/2015Islington NorthLabourProposed
David Amess12/02/2015Southend WestConservativeSeconded
Martin Horwood12/02/2015CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan12/02/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
George Galloway12/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins12/02/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Diane Abbott12/02/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Alan Meale23/02/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon23/02/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Virendra Sharma23/02/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Paul Flynn24/02/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie24/02/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Ward24/02/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea24/02/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
David Anderson24/02/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Martin Caton24/02/2015GowerLabourSigned
David Simpson25/02/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell25/02/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson26/02/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
John Leech26/02/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd02/03/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Joan Ruddock03/03/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders03/03/2015TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas03/03/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Lady Hermon04/03/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Grahame Morris04/03/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff04/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Katy Clark09/03/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell09/03/2015Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.