Parliament Website

Phone Phreaking

EDM number 811 in 2014-15, proposed by Jonathan Edwards on 23/02/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Crime and Telecommunications.

That this House notes the increasing escalation of criminal activity resulting from the hacking of business telephone systems to initiate outbound calls to premium numbers; further notes that according to the Criminal Fraud Control Association, the UK is a global hot spot for such fraudulent activity, known as phone phreaking, together with Cuba, Lichtenstein and India; further notes that such activity costs businesses based in the UK an estimated £1 billion per annum; further notes that a single attack on a small business can lead to telephone charges of thousands of pounds, endangering the viability of businesses; believes that it is unacceptable that the cost from clear fraudulent activity is borne by businesses targeted by criminals; and calls on the Department for Culture, Media and Sport and Ofcom to initiate measures to protect unsuspecting and law abiding businesses from being targeted by organised criminals via phone phreaking.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Jonathan Edwards23/02/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruProposed
Peter Bottomley23/02/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George23/02/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Anderson24/02/2015BlaydonLabourSeconded
David Simpson24/02/2015Upper BannDUPSeconded
Paul Flynn24/02/2015Newport WestLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon24/02/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
David Ward24/02/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell25/02/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn25/02/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/02/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan25/02/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale25/02/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
John Leech26/02/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby04/03/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff04/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd05/03/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Menzies Campbell10/03/2015North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams10/03/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Andrew Stunell12/03/2015Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.