Parliament Website

HM Passport Office Staff

EDM number 85 in 2014-15, proposed by John McDonnell on 12/06/2014.
Categorised under the topic of Industrial relations.

That this House commends the work which is being carried out by front and back office staff at HM Passport Office; notes their dedication during a time of immense pressure with offices opening seven days a week from 7am to midnight; is concerned by the Government's lack of accountability regarding the current crisis where backlogs are reaching over half a million; further notes that its current contingency plans are having little effect; further notes the warnings of an impending crisis the Government received from unions and hon. Members before the implementation of its drastic cuts programme which has seen the workforce reduced by a tenth and the closure of 22 interview offices and one application processing centre; and calls on the Government to acknowledge the current crisis and commit to increasing the staffing levels at both interview offices and processing centres across the country and ending the misery for families throughout the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

John McDonnell12/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn12/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Rosie Cooper16/06/2014West LancashireLabourSeconded
George Mudie16/06/2014Leeds EastLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner16/06/2014BolsoverLabourSeconded
Katy Clark16/06/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan16/06/2014HalifaxLabourSigned
Jim Shannon16/06/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Jim Sheridan17/06/2014Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson17/06/2014Upper BannDUPSigned
Graeme Morrice17/06/2014LivingstonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas17/06/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jim Cunningham18/06/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne18/06/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds18/06/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Steve Rotheram18/06/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell18/06/2014East LondonderryDUPSigned
Paul Flynn19/06/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Ian Lavery19/06/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell19/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma23/06/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff23/06/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy24/06/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Chris Ruane24/06/2014Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Martin Caton30/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn30/06/2014JarrowLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long02/07/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Yasmin Qureshi01/09/2014Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.