Parliament Website

Mediation With UNESCO For The Repatriation Of The Parthenon Sculptures

EDM number 852 in 2014-15, proposed by Andrew George on 09/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Art works, Cultural heritage, Museums and galleries and Western Europe.

That this House is aware that half of the Parthenon sculptures, controversially removed from Athens by Lord Elgin 210 years ago using a flimsy legal justification during the Ottoman occupation of Greece, remain on display in the British Museum; notes that, when presented with the facts, the British public favours the reunification of the Parthenon Marbles in Athens; further notes an opinion poll conducted by YouGov in October 2014 which shows only 23 per cent of the British public think they should stay in Britain; is further aware that the British Museum has abandoned most of its conventional arguments and now advances the novel concept of a universal museum; regrets the Government's apparent decision to reject the offer from UNESCO to mediate with the Greek government; and calls on the Government to reverse this decision and to demonstrate that Britain is prepared to express its standing in the world by engaging in a gracious act to reunite these British-held Parthenon sculptures with those now displayed in the purpose-built Acropolis Museum in the shadow of the monument to which they belong, the Parthenon in Athens.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Andrew George09/03/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratProposed
Mary Glindon09/03/2015North TynesideLabourSeconded
Hywel Williams09/03/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn09/03/2015Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Jeremy Lefroy09/03/2015StaffordConservativeSeconded
Adrian Sanders09/03/2015TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell09/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
George Galloway09/03/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Mark Williams09/03/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn09/03/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock10/03/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Ward11/03/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma11/03/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Leech11/03/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale11/03/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Diane Abbott12/03/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff23/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Katy Clark25/03/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.