Parliament Website

State Of Media Freedom In Turkey

EDM number 854 in 2014-15, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 09/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Eastern Europe, Media, Middle East and Press.

That this House is concerned about widespread reports of growing authoritarianism in Turkey, particularly illustrated by, but not restricted to, the state censorship and imprisonment of journalists in Turkey; notes the continued imprisonment since 14 December 2014 of Hidayet Karaca who is the chief executive of a Turkish television network of channels, and the arrest of 20 journalists in a series of dawn raids in Turkey in mid-December 2014, including Ekrem Dumanli, who is the editor-in-chief of Turkey's largest circulating newspaper and Sedef Kabas, who is a television presenter facing a prison sentence for posting a tweet about a corruption probe involving high-profile names, and most recently the arrest, charge and remand of investigative journalist Mehmet Baransu; welcomes the statement by the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and the EU Commissioner for Enlargement Negotiations that the latest crackdown is against the European values and standards Turkey aspires to be part of; further notes the need for the Turkish authorities to remove travel bans imposed on journalists and to drop all criminal charges against them and release all other journalists behind bars in the country; and further calls on the Government to raise these and other concerns that give rise to a growing sense of authoritarianism in Turkey with their counterparts in Turkey.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn09/03/2015Islington NorthLabourProposed
Jim Shannon10/03/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan10/03/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
David Anderson10/03/2015BlaydonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley10/03/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins10/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell11/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell11/03/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Virendra Sharma11/03/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Leech11/03/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale11/03/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner11/03/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon12/03/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/03/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Ian Mearns12/03/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Diane Abbott12/03/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Ian Lavery12/03/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Graham Stringer16/03/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Andrew Love16/03/2015EdmontonLabourSigned
Emily Thornberry17/03/2015Islington South and FinsburyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn17/03/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Gapes17/03/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd18/03/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Greg Mulholland18/03/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie18/03/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton18/03/2015GowerLabourSigned
Liz McInnes19/03/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Williams20/03/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell23/03/2015ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas23/03/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Naomi Long24/03/2015Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Paul Farrelly24/03/2015Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock25/03/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Katy Clark25/03/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.