Parliament Website

India's Daughter And Ending Violence Against Women

EDM number 882 in 2014-15, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 17/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Crimes of violence, Equality, Human rights and Sexual offences.

That this House notes the very powerful effect of Leslee Udwin's documentary, India's Daughter, inspired by the Indian peoples' response to the gang rape of a 23 year old medical student, Jyoti Singh, as demonstrated by the resulting month-long protests of men and women from all walks of life; further notes the relevance of the film in raising awareness of on-going worldwide efforts to educate everyone against violence against girls and women; congratulates the UK for its leadership in working to end female genital mutilation, child marriage and gender inequality; deplores the Indian government's decision to ban the film, which has denied the people most affected by rape and murder a platform to speak for themselves and has prevented a light being shone on what needs to change in the grossly unequal attitudes toward women worldwide and especially Dalit women who are disproportionately affected; further notes that the blanket ban contravenes fundamental rights of free speech and freedom of expression; and calls on the international community to do more to extend their solidarity to all those who are suffering as a result of continuing violence against girls and women, including the family and friends of Jyoti Singh, and to all those campaigning to end it.

This motion has been signed by a total of 60 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn17/03/2015Islington NorthLabourProposed
Elfyn Llwyd17/03/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Bob Russell17/03/2015ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Gapes17/03/2015Ilford SouthLabourSeconded
Katy Clark17/03/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Diane Abbott17/03/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSeconded
John Cryer17/03/2015Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
John McDonnell17/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma17/03/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas17/03/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
David Anderson17/03/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Julian Huppert17/03/2015CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Rotheram17/03/2015Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis17/03/2015AberavonLabourSigned
Mike Thornton17/03/2015EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Ruddock17/03/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
John Robertson17/03/2015Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Grahame Morris17/03/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn17/03/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff17/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham17/03/2015Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Ann Coffey17/03/2015StockportLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne18/03/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Nigel Evans18/03/2015Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Chris Williamson18/03/2015Derby NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon18/03/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
George Galloway18/03/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Jeremy Lefroy18/03/2015StaffordConservativeSigned
Dave Watts18/03/2015St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Love18/03/2015EdmontonLabourSigned
Pat Glass18/03/2015North West DurhamLabourSigned
Michael Connarty18/03/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Ian Mearns18/03/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson18/03/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Andrew George18/03/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Ward18/03/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Dennis Skinner18/03/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Shannon18/03/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Martin Caton18/03/2015GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell18/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards18/03/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Meale18/03/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
David Simpson18/03/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Mark Durkan18/03/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Sarah Champion18/03/2015RotherhamLabourSigned
Julian Lewis19/03/2015New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock19/03/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Liz McInnes19/03/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Williams20/03/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Wood20/03/2015Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Keith Vaz20/03/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Jim Dowd23/03/2015Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi24/03/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Naomi Long24/03/2015Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Nick Harvey24/03/2015North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter25/03/2015CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell25/03/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Lazarowicz25/03/2015Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield25/03/2015Sheffield CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.