Parliament Website

10th Anniversary Of Breaking The Silence

EDM number 92 in 2014-15, proposed by Fiona O'Donnell on 12/06/2014.
Categorised under the topic of Middle East.

That this House notes that 2014 marks the 10th anniversary of the Israeli non-governmental organisation, Breaking the Silence, established by veteran Israeli Defence Force soldiers to raise awareness about the reality of life for soldiers and civilians in the Occupied Palestinian Territories; welcomes the important work that Breaking the Silence does to provide a unique and credible voice amidst ongoing tension and conflict in the region; recognises the courage and contribution of those involved in this work; further notes the importance of their engagement with the International Development Committee during its visit to Hebron as part of an inquiry into the Department for International Development's work in the Occupied Palestinian Territories; expresses concern at the UK Government's decision to discontinue funding for Breaking the Silence's public education programmes; and calls on the Government to reverse that decision.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Fiona O'Donnell12/06/2014East LothianLabourProposed
Glenda Jackson16/06/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin16/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
John McDonnell16/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan16/06/2014HalifaxLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan16/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie17/06/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Ward17/06/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Ruddock18/06/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn18/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams18/06/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Frank Doran18/06/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield18/06/2014Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Chris Williamson18/06/2014Derby NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon18/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Kevin Barron18/06/2014Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Crispin Blunt18/06/2014ReigateConservativeSigned
Mark Lazarowicz18/06/2014Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham18/06/2014Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne18/06/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Bob Russell19/06/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell19/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Crockart19/06/2014Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Lavery19/06/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Paul Flynn19/06/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz23/06/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood23/06/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
David Crausby23/06/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff23/06/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Martin Caton30/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Mike Wood30/06/2014Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Grahame Morris03/07/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley09/07/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Khalid Mahmood22/07/2014Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.