Parliament Website

Global Fund To Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis And Malaria

EDM number 1007 in 2015-16, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 26/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and International development.

That this House welcomes the contribution that the Global Fund to fight AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria has made to tackling these three epidemics since its creation in 2002; notes that investments from the Fund have saved 17 million lives to date, and led to a one-third decline in deaths from the three diseases in countries where it invests; further notes that investments have put 8.1 million people on antiretroviral treatment for HIV, treated 13.2 million people for tuberculosis and 515 million people for malaria; understands, however, that each year 1.2 million people continue to die from HIV/AIDS, 1.5 million people from tuberculosis and 400,000 people from malaria; recognises the role of the Fund as the principal international financing institution geared towards accelerating the end of these epidemics; further recognises that, in working towards this, the Fund has encouraged effective partnership between governments, the private sector, civil society and people affected by the diseases; notes that international finance is essential if the epidemics are to be ended by 2030, in line with the Sustainable Development Goals; appreciates that donors should commit according to their ability to contribute; further welcomes the leadership that the Government has shown through its contributions to the Fund's previous replenishments and its membership of the Fund's Board; and calls on the Government to continue its support for the Fund by contributing to its upcoming replenishment and pressing other donors to do the same.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs.

Virendra Sharma26/01/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
Jeremy Lefroy26/01/2016StaffordConservativeSeconded
Jim Dowd26/01/2016Lewisham West and PengeLabourSeconded
Michael Weir27/01/2016AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Campbell27/01/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon27/01/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan27/01/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie27/01/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martyn Day27/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley27/01/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon27/01/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Gregory Campbell27/01/2016East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/01/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins28/01/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Nicolson28/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz28/01/2016Leicester EastLabourSigned
Mary Glindon28/01/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Ian Blackford28/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman28/01/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black28/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray28/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands29/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell01/02/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil01/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry01/02/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas01/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Paul Monaghan01/02/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards01/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Wes Streeting01/02/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens01/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale01/02/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Roger Mullin02/02/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson02/02/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham02/02/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg03/02/2016Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan03/02/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law03/02/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson04/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins04/02/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff05/02/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Steven Paterson08/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald08/02/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman10/02/2016Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds11/02/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Yasmin Qureshi22/02/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard22/03/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.