Parliament Website

Job Losses In Local Newspapers

EDM number 1017 in 2015-16, proposed by Helen Goodman on 27/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Employment and Press.

That this House is concerned by the announcement that Johnston Press, which publishes titles including the Yorkshire Post, Yorkshire Evening Post, Lancashire Evening Post, The Scotsman and Derry Journal, is to cull almost 100 editorial posts; notes that this announcement comes just days after Newsquest announced that up to 25 journalist posts are to be axed across its Scottish titles; further notes that year-on-year cuts in jobs and closure of newspaper titles have resulted in the loss of 5,000 editorial roles in local and regional press, and the closure of more than 150 newspapers since March 2011; believes that local and regional news coverage is an essential feature of civic life and a healthy democracy; and therefore calls for active government intervention to prevent the destruction of these vital community assets and to establish a short, sharp inquiry to produce a coherent strategy for defending local journalism.

This motion has been signed by a total of 60 MPs.

Helen Goodman27/01/2016Bishop AucklandLabourProposed
Chris Stephens27/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts27/01/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Mark Durkan27/01/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Caroline Lucas27/01/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins27/01/2016Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley27/01/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Douglas Chapman28/01/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson28/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford28/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day28/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black28/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray28/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon28/01/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell29/01/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford29/01/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson01/02/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil01/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma01/02/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Paul Monaghan01/02/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale01/02/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards01/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Blomfield01/02/2016Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
George Kerevan01/02/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart01/02/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting01/02/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir01/02/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson01/02/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard01/02/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn02/02/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Henry Bellingham02/02/2016North West NorfolkConservativeSigned
Margaret Ritchie02/02/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Cunningham02/02/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer02/02/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Roger Mullin02/02/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss02/02/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
John McNally02/02/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams03/02/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Eilidh Whiteford03/02/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law03/02/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Gregory Campbell03/02/2016East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jo Cox03/02/2016Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Phil Boswell04/02/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Angus Robertson04/02/2016MorayScottish National PartySigned
Sammy Wilson04/02/2016East AntrimDUPSigned
Stephen Gethins04/02/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson05/02/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Marion Fellows05/02/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson08/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald08/02/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock09/02/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin10/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson10/02/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Paula Sherriff10/02/2016DewsburyLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds11/02/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Valerie Vaz22/02/2016Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson22/02/2016Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Michael Dugher23/02/2016Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.