Parliament Website

Speak Up For Libraries Campaign

EDM number 1025 in 2015-16, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 27/01/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Libraries.

That this House recognises that public libraries are hugely important to our communities; acknowledges that many have already closed or are under threat; welcomes the Speak Up For Library lobby of Parliament in support of the public library service on 9 February 2016; and calls on the Government to ensure that councils have enough money to provide well-staffed quality services to enforce the law that says local authorities must provide a comprehensive and efficient library service, to implement policy which secures people’s statutory rights to a quality library service and to give libraries a long-term future by including a programme of library development and modernisation in the 2016 to 2020 Department for Culture, Media and Sport Business Plan.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins27/01/2016Luton NorthLabourProposed
Helen Goodman27/01/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSeconded
Paul Blomfield27/01/2016Sheffield CentralLabourSeconded
John McNally27/01/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
John Pugh27/01/2016SouthportLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon28/01/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Margaret Ritchie28/01/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Durkan28/01/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Dennis Skinner28/01/2016BolsoverLabourSigned
Graham Stringer28/01/2016Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Martyn Day28/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting01/02/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas01/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
George Kerevan01/02/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson02/02/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham02/02/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma03/02/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell03/02/2016East LondonderryDUPSigned
Khalid Mahmood08/02/2016Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned
Naseem Shah08/02/2016Bradford WestLabourSigned
Jo Cox08/02/2016Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Roberta Blackman-Woods08/02/2016City of DurhamLabourSigned
Angela Rayner08/02/2016Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Valerie Vaz09/02/2016Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn09/02/2016JarrowLabourSigned
Ian Mearns09/02/2016GatesheadLabourSigned
Tristram Hunt09/02/2016Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Graham Jones09/02/2016HyndburnLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland09/02/2016Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne McLaughlin10/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds11/02/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Edward Leigh11/02/2016GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Sammy Wilson22/02/2016East AntrimDUPSigned
Stephen Twigg24/02/2016Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
John Spellar10/03/2016WarleyLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper14/03/2016West LancashireLabourSigned
Rupa Huq13/04/2016Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
David Crausby27/04/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty09/05/2016Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.