Parliament Website

UN Convention On The Prevention And Punishment Of Genocide

EDM number 1192 in 2015-16, proposed by Robert Flello on 02/03/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Ethnic groups, Human rights, Middle East, Racial discrimination, Religion and faith communities, Religious discrimination and United Nations.

That this House welcomes the recent resolution of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and the recent motion of the European Parliament which each identifies the slaughter by Daesh of Christians and other minorities in Syria and Iraq as the genocide that it is; notes the recent statements by Hillary Clinton, by leading Republican contenders for the US Presidency, and by His Holiness Pope Francis that the targeting of these communities is genocide; observes that an amendment was recently proposed to the Immigration Bill in the House of Lords to place upon the Government a duty to act to protect vulnerable individuals from genocide, and looks forward to that amendment being moved again at a future stage of the Bill; reminds the Prime Minister of the UK's duties under the UN Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of genocide to act both directly and with others to bring this killing to an end and to bring its perpetrators to trial and punishment; expresses its frustration at the reluctance of Ministers to present evidence and to work to create a consensus at the UN that the killing is genocide; and observes that such inaction risks bringing shame on our nation and risks bringing the reputation of the Government into international disrepute.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Robert Flello02/03/2016Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourProposed
David Amess02/03/2016Southend WestConservativeSeconded
Stephen Gethins02/03/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally02/03/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Meale03/03/2016MansfieldLabourSeconded
Martyn Day03/03/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon03/03/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Natalie McGarry03/03/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Fiona Mactaggart04/03/2016SloughLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil07/03/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell07/03/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black07/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts07/03/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Margaret Ferrier07/03/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law08/03/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald08/03/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows08/03/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir08/03/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson08/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin08/03/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham08/03/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley08/03/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John Nicolson08/03/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady09/03/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Fiona Bruce09/03/2016CongletonConservativeSigned
Bob Blackman09/03/2016Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon09/03/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Corri Wilson09/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald09/03/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson09/03/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens10/03/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara10/03/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson10/03/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff14/03/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/03/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh21/03/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry21/03/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands21/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/03/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Gapes24/03/2016Ilford SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby27/04/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Alan Brown09/05/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.