Parliament Website

Uk-Malawi Tax Treaty

EDM number 1206 in 2015-16, proposed by Patrick Grady on 07/03/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, International development, International law and Taxation.

That this House welcomes the renewed focus from the Government and the government of Malawi to renegotiate the double taxation treaty between the UK and Malawi, and the UK Financial Secretary to the Treasury's statement that the new treaty is close to conclusion; notes with concern that the existing treaty was signed in 1955 while Malawi was under colonial rule, and that analysis from ActionAid suggests that it limits tax revenue collection in Malawi; further notes that ActionAid's new report, Mistreated, finds that tax treaties signed by lower-income countries with OECD countries since 1970 are increasingly restricting the former's tax rights and reducing their ability to raise tax revenue; calls on the Government to demonstrate its global leadership on tax and international development issues by breaking this trend and offering a significantly fairer treaty to Malawi, which helps the government of Malawi to raise tax revenues to fight poverty; and further calls on the Government to ensure the negotiation process is transparent, involves the Department for International Development and other stakeholders concerned with poverty in Malawi, and allows for thorough parliamentary scrutiny and debate of any new treaty.

This motion has been signed by a total of 53 MPs.

Patrick Grady07/03/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartyProposed
David Amess07/03/2016Southend WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan07/03/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Caroline Lucas07/03/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Helen Goodman07/03/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSeconded
John Pugh07/03/2016SouthportLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ian Blackford08/03/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards08/03/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Shannon08/03/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Roger Mullin08/03/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson08/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir08/03/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day08/03/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale08/03/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Chris Law08/03/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie09/03/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier09/03/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron09/03/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
John McNally09/03/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan09/03/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil09/03/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald09/03/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss09/03/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson09/03/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson10/03/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens10/03/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig10/03/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara10/03/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford10/03/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson10/03/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald11/03/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows14/03/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard14/03/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell14/03/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford14/03/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff14/03/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Richard Arkless15/03/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan15/03/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman16/03/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry16/03/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins17/03/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh21/03/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands21/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry21/03/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/03/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Doughty22/03/2016Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
George Kerevan23/03/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson24/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry24/03/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black11/04/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi18/04/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Alan Brown09/05/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.