Parliament Website

National Defence Medal

EDM number 1284 in 2015-16, proposed by Kirsten Oswald on 21/03/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Armed forces and Veterans.

That this House notes that all those who serve in the UK armed forces do so knowing that this will require a great deal of personal sacrifice and will have a profound impact on their families; acknowledges that all military service involves an acceptance of substantial risk of injury, or even death, in the course of undertaking that duty; further acknowledges that ex-service personnel are proud to receive and wear the Veterans Badge but notes that this is not awarded posthumously and it is considered by many to be insufficient recognition for the contribution veterans have made to our safety; further notes that many former service personnel, including those who undertook National Service, have received no decoration, despite undertaking traumatic and hazardous operations; and calls on the Government to more appropriately recognise the UK’s veterans by the award of a national defence medal and to take steps to implement this as soon as possible.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Kirsten Oswald21/03/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartyProposed
Neil Gray21/03/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown21/03/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Richard Arkless21/03/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySeconded
Phil Boswell21/03/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford21/03/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell21/03/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale21/03/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon21/03/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Gavin Newlands21/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson21/03/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig21/03/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan21/03/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan21/03/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens21/03/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law21/03/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald21/03/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson21/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley22/03/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Gavin Robinson22/03/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Corri Wilson23/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds23/03/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Stuart Donaldson23/03/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil23/03/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson23/03/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley23/03/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan23/03/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day23/03/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara23/03/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black24/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows24/03/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh11/04/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman11/04/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins11/04/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry12/04/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Tom Elliott12/04/2016Fermanagh and South TyroneUUPSigned
Jim Cunningham12/04/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi14/04/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
George Howarth18/04/2016KnowsleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Lefroy19/04/2016StaffordConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.