Parliament Website

Malaria Research At Dundee University

EDM number 167 in 2015-16, proposed by Chris Law on 22/06/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Higher education and Research and innovation.

That this House congratulates Dundee University for its exciting and potentially world-changing discovery of a new compound which could treat malaria while also protecting people from the disease and preventing the spread of the disease; considers that such innovation in malaria drugs is necessary in light of the threat of resistance to current anti-malarial medicines; recognises that malaria continues to cause hundreds of thousands of deaths a year; and commends the Scottish Government's higher education policy, which continues to encourage such world-class innovation in Scottish universities through its supportive and progressive higher education policies.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Chris Law22/06/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartyProposed
Peter Bottomley22/06/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Patrick Grady23/06/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Philippa Whitford23/06/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon23/06/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Margaret Ferrier23/06/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Alex Salmond23/06/2015Signed
John McDonnell23/06/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan23/06/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Gethins23/06/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day23/06/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty23/06/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray23/06/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows23/06/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir23/06/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/06/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Drew Hendry24/06/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh24/06/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock24/06/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan24/06/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie24/06/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Blackford24/06/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens24/06/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally25/06/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell29/06/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Keith Vaz29/06/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Paul Flynn29/06/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Stuart Donaldson30/06/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron01/07/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan01/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless01/07/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale01/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry01/07/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon01/07/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Angela Crawley02/07/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil02/07/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson06/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss06/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson06/07/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma06/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Peter Grant09/07/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown21/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.