Parliament Website

Glasgow University's Charles Kennedy Memorial Fund

EDM number 231 in 2015-16, proposed by Patrick Grady on 01/07/2015.
Categorised under the topic of Higher education.

That this House welcomes the launch of a Memorial Fund by Glasgow University in honour of the late Rt hon. Charles Kennedy MP; recalls the enduring connection Charles Kennedy had with the university as a student, President of the University Union, recipient of an honorary doctorate and latterly as Rector from 2008 to 2014; notes that funds raised will support the naming of a state-of-the-art lecture theatre within a new Learning and Teaching Hub as part of the university's expansion on to the Western Infirmary site close to the current Gilmorehill campus; and shares the university's belief that this permanent memorial in a student-centred project is both a fitting and timely way to commemorate Charles Kennedy's remarkable contribution to the university, and his impact on politics and public life in Scotland and the UK as a whole.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Patrick Grady01/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Ian Blackford01/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley01/07/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Stephen Pound01/07/2015Ealing NorthLabourSeconded
Angela Crawley01/07/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySeconded
Alistair Carmichael01/07/2015Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan01/07/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Liam Fox02/07/2015North SomersetConservativeSeconded
George Kerevan02/07/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Kevin Barron02/07/2015Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil02/07/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale02/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon02/07/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Kirsty Blackman02/07/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Liz McInnes02/07/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Chris Stephens02/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day02/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell02/07/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon06/07/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Virendra Sharma06/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts06/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Stuart Donaldson06/07/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss06/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson06/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams06/07/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz06/07/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland07/07/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Boswell07/07/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford07/07/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald07/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black07/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
John McNally08/07/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan08/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson08/07/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Julian Lewis08/07/2015New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Peter Grant09/07/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond09/07/2015Signed
Tasmina Sheikh13/07/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law13/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford13/07/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray16/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown21/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.