Parliament Website

50th Anniversary Of Scottish Catholic International Aid Fund

EDM number 32 in 2015-16, proposed by Patrick Grady on 27/05/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Charities, Incomes and poverty and Religion and faith communities.

That this House notes the 50th anniversary of the Scottish Catholic International Aid Fund (SCIAF), established in 1965 in Rutherglen by Bishop Michael Foylan, Monsignor John Rooney and Mr John McKee, guided by the principles of the Second Vatican Council; thanks SCIAF for its dedication to ending poverty and working alongside some of the world’s poorest women and men, whatever their faith; further recognises SCIAF’s passion for challenging the underlying causes of poverty through education and advocacy on issues including climate change and corporate accountability; supports SCIAF’s efforts to provide practical support to communities on the ground through projects focusing on access to justice and peace-building, promoting sustainable livelihoods and education; further recognises SCIAF’s responses to emergencies through existing local partners and the Caritas Internationalis family, most recently following the earthquake in Nepal; further notes important opportunities in 2015 to tackle global poverty including the agreement of Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in September and the expected deal at the UN climate change conference in Paris in December; urges the Government to promote an SDGs framework that prioritises equity, human rights, participation and accountability and to push for a fair, binding, transparent deal in Paris, which reflects both science and equity and safeguards the dignity and rights of the world’s most vulnerable people; and wishes SCIAF every success in the years ahead.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Patrick Grady27/05/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Angus MacNeil27/05/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara27/05/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin27/05/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock27/05/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Stephen Gethins27/05/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Flynn27/05/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley27/05/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Natalie McGarry28/05/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty28/05/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier28/05/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell28/05/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law28/05/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan28/05/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless28/05/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson28/05/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford28/05/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens28/05/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford28/05/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day01/06/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon01/06/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Alex Salmond01/06/2015Signed
Owen Thompson01/06/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan01/06/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Douglas Chapman01/06/2015Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss01/06/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford02/06/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn02/06/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir02/06/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell02/06/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry02/06/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie02/06/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell03/06/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/06/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Greg Mulholland03/06/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz04/06/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham04/06/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Anderson04/06/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands08/06/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell16/06/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.