Parliament Website

Tackling The Refugee Crisis

EDM number 374 in 2015-16, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 07/09/2015.
Categorised under the topic of Asylum.

That this House notes with extreme concern the ongoing refugee crisis being witnessed in Europe and across the Mediterranean Sea; understands that the International Organisation for Migration (IOM) estimates that more than 350,000 migrants have attempted to cross the Mediterranean Sea between January and August 2015; considers it a tragedy that over 2,600 refugees and migrants have died or gone missing whilst undertaking this perilous journey and that at least a further 1,000 have lost their lives along various other migration routes, including the Sahara Desert and South Asia's Bay of Bengal; further notes that far from being economic migrants looking to improve their circumstances, figures compiled by the United Nations show that 62 per cent of those who had reached Europe by boat this year were from Syria, Eritrea and Afghanistan - countries ravaged by war and religious extremism; is aware that the number of those seeking refuge in Europe equates to less than 0.05 per cent of the continent's population and that, as the world's richest continent, much more could be done to address the unfolding tragedy; applauds what it considers to be the exceptional efforts of the German Federal Government which is preparing to take in 800,000 asylum seekers this year; recognises that a growing number of people across the country wish the UK Government to adopt a similarly proactive role; believes that the UK could comfortably provide sanctuary to many more asylum seekers due to the fact that UN figures show the number of refugees in the UK fell from 193,600 to 117,161 over the last four years; and calls on the Government to show decisive leadership to ensure the UK plays a full and active role in alleviating this escalating and tragic situation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 63 MPs.

Patricia Gibson07/09/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
Anne McLaughlin07/09/2015Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySeconded
Mhairi Black07/09/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Martin Docherty07/09/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsten Oswald07/09/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySeconded
Tasmina Sheikh07/09/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens07/09/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan07/09/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Lammy07/09/2015TottenhamLabourSigned
Pete Wishart07/09/2015Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond07/09/2015Signed
John Nicolson07/09/2015East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford07/09/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss07/09/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant07/09/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford07/09/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman07/09/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford07/09/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris07/09/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff07/09/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan07/09/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard07/09/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown07/09/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan07/09/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara08/09/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir08/09/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan08/09/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman08/09/2015Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson08/09/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands08/09/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson08/09/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Angus MacNeil08/09/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley08/09/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady08/09/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson08/09/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Paul Blomfield08/09/2015Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie08/09/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Shannon08/09/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Drew Hendry08/09/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray09/09/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig09/09/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams09/09/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Deidre Brock09/09/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts09/09/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Lady Hermon09/09/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Chris Law09/09/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier09/09/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/09/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron10/09/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas10/09/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Gerald Jones11/09/2015Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell14/09/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Richard Arkless14/09/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins14/09/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell15/09/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn15/09/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Mark Williams17/09/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Joanna Cherry12/10/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day12/10/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock21/10/2015AberavonLabourSigned
Imran Hussain21/10/2015Bradford EastLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi26/10/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Corri Wilson15/12/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.