Parliament Website

Junior Doctors

EDM number 539 in 2015-16, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 19/10/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Health staff and professions and Industrial relations.

That this House recognises that junior doctors are dedicated professionals who are the backbone of the NHS, providing the best quality care for their patients; believes it is essential to ensure a contract that is safe for patients, junior doctors and the NHS; supports the view of the BMA's Junior Doctors Committee that the best outcome for junior doctors is a contract agreed through genuine and meaningful negotiations and therefore calls on the Secretary of State for Health to drop all preconditions; further believes it is essential that proper hours safeguards are introduced to protect patients and their doctors, together with proper recognition of unsocial hours as a premium time, and an agreement that work on Saturdays and late evenings cannot be considered the same as daytime on a weekday; believes there should be no disadvantage for those working unsocial hours compared to the current system, nor for those working less than full time and taking parental leave; is concerned that the NHS Trust's responsibility to monitor the number of hours worked has been withdrawn and urges its reintroduction; further recognises that junior doctors already work seven days a week for emergency work, and that the barriers to extend that to non-urgent elective work are the lack of complementary services, for example social care packages and pharmacists, not doctors' working patterns; and urges the Secretary of State to accurately reflect this reality in his statements, to work to restore morale within the NHS, and to bring an evidence-based approach to renewed negotiations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 91 MPs.

Caroline Lucas19/10/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Paul Flynn19/10/2015Newport WestLabourSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts20/10/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Mark Durkan20/10/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Thangam Debbonaire20/10/2015Bristol WestLabourSeconded
Alan Meale20/10/2015MansfieldLabourSeconded
Helen Hayes20/10/2015Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz20/10/2015Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson20/10/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/10/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Paula Sherriff20/10/2015DewsburyLabourSigned
John Cryer20/10/2015Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Rupa Huq20/10/2015Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Tulip Siddiq20/10/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi20/10/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Dawn Butler21/10/2015Signed
Dennis Skinner21/10/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Karen Buck21/10/2015Westminster NorthLabourSigned
Frank Field21/10/2015BirkenheadLabourSigned
Alan Brown21/10/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham21/10/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/10/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer21/10/2015St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield21/10/2015Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop21/10/2015Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Michael Weir21/10/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Graham Stringer21/10/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie21/10/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards21/10/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick21/10/2015Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Neil Coyle21/10/2015Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson22/10/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Roger Godsiff22/10/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Lady Hermon22/10/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Chris Matheson22/10/2015City of ChesterLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/10/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Mearns22/10/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper22/10/2015West LancashireLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry22/10/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Joan Ryan22/10/2015Signed
Mary Glindon22/10/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Neil Gray22/10/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/10/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Fabian Hamilton22/10/2015Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Gareth Thomas23/10/2015Harrow WestLabourSigned
Jo Stevens23/10/2015Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
David Anderson23/10/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Kevin Barron23/10/2015Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Sadiq Khan23/10/2015TootingLabourSigned
Liam Byrne23/10/2015Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Jim Dowd26/10/2015Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter26/10/2015HammersmithLabourSigned
Phil Boswell26/10/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Liz McInnes26/10/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury26/10/2015Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Julie Cooper26/10/2015BurnleyLabourSigned
Kirsten Oswald26/10/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
John Mann26/10/2015BassetlawLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland26/10/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Osamor26/10/2015EdmontonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
George Howarth27/10/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Bill Esterson27/10/2015Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Mark Williams27/10/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Siobhain McDonagh27/10/2015Mitcham and MordenLabourSigned
Hywel Williams27/10/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Alison McGovern27/10/2015Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Tristram Hunt27/10/2015Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Jess Phillips27/10/2015Birmingham, YardleyLabourSigned
Wes Streeting27/10/2015Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Keir Starmer28/10/2015Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
David Lammy28/10/2015TottenhamLabourSigned
Louise Ellman28/10/2015Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Helen Goodman28/10/2015Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn28/10/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Rushanara Ali29/10/2015Bethnal Green and BowLabourSigned
Fiona Mactaggart29/10/2015SloughLabourSigned
Imran Hussain29/10/2015Bradford EastLabourSigned
Nick Brown29/10/2015Newcastle upon Tyne EastLabourSigned
Ivan Lewis30/10/2015Bury SouthLabourSigned
Louise Haigh30/10/2015Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Kate Hoey02/11/2015VauxhallLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson02/11/2015East AntrimDUPSigned
Stephen Kinnock03/11/2015AberavonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma03/11/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Keith Vaz03/11/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Albert Owen04/11/2015Ynys MLabourSigned
Conor McGinn16/11/2015St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Timms16/11/2015East HamLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman18/11/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram20/11/2015Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick24/11/2015PrestonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.