Parliament Website

Protection Of Shop Workers

EDM number 599 in 2015-16, proposed by Ann Coffey on 26/10/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Industrial health and safety and Service industries.

That this House congratulates the Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers (Usdaw) for its ongoing Freedom from Fear campaign, which seeks to prevent violence, threats and abuse against shopworkers; notes with regret the chaotic and angry events of last year's Black Friday sales which resulted in shopworkers and members of the public being assaulted, threatened and abused, and in many instances the police had to be called and some stores had to close their doors because they were unable to cope; further notes with regret that more than 300 shopworkers are assaulted every day simply for doing their job; and urges all hon. Members to support the annual Respect for Shopworkers' Week, which runs from 9 to 13 November 2015, to remind the public that shopworkers provide a service and deserve to be able to go about their jobs free from fear of abuse.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs.

Ann Coffey26/10/2015StockportLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley26/10/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Thangam Debbonaire27/10/2015Bristol WestLabourSeconded
George Kerevan27/10/2015East LothianScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day27/10/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon27/10/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
David Hanson27/10/2015DelynLabourSigned
Hywel Williams27/10/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Williams27/10/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/10/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan27/10/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Nicolson28/10/2015East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
George Howarth28/10/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell28/10/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson28/10/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds28/10/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Chris Stephens28/10/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald28/10/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale28/10/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry28/10/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson28/10/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell28/10/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Fiona Mactaggart29/10/2015SloughLabourSigned
Paul Monaghan29/10/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts29/10/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ian Blackford29/10/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Imran Hussain29/10/2015Bradford EastLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz02/11/2015Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh02/11/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron03/11/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie03/11/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Angela Crawley03/11/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law03/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens04/11/2015Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
David Anderson04/11/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan04/11/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell04/11/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford04/11/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon04/11/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Roger Godsiff04/11/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mike Gapes04/11/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth05/11/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Angela Rayner05/11/2015Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Ian Mearns05/11/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner05/11/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Yvonne Fovargue06/11/2015MakerfieldLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi09/11/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Neil Gray10/11/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Gareth Thomas16/11/2015Harrow WestLabourSigned
Conor McGinn16/11/2015St Helens NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby16/11/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jo Cox16/11/2015Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Owen Thompson16/11/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Maria Caulfield17/11/2015LewesConservativeSigned
Colleen Fletcher17/11/2015Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Jim Dowd18/11/2015Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Alan Brown25/11/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry10/12/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting07/01/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Chris Evans14/01/2016IslwynLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas23/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.