Parliament Website

End Impunity For Crimes Targeting Journalists

EDM number 630 in 2015-16, proposed by Helen Goodman on 02/11/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Crimes of violence, Death, Human rights, International politics and government and Media.

That this House notes that last year 118 media workers lost their lives, yet just one out of 10 such killings of journalists is investigated; supports the annual campaign held every November by the International Federation of Journalists to end impunity for governments and de facto authorities globally in respect of crimes targeting journalists; further notes that the 2015 campaign puts a specific emphasis on crimes against journalists in Mexico, Yemen, the Philippines and Ukraine; believes that such impunity not only endangers journalists but also imperils democracy and the public's right to know; and therefore resolves to do everything in its power to hold governments across the world accountable for bringing to justice those responsible for killing journalists.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Helen Goodman02/11/2015Bishop AucklandLabourProposed
Paul Flynn02/11/2015Newport WestLabourSeconded
Caroline Lucas02/11/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
John Nicolson02/11/2015East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens02/11/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley02/11/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon03/11/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Liz Saville Roberts03/11/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Durkan03/11/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martyn Day03/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan03/11/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson04/11/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Mike Gapes04/11/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff04/11/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Chris Law04/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell04/11/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/11/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Anderson04/11/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie04/11/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Gethins05/11/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham05/11/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon05/11/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Deidre Brock05/11/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Fabian Hamilton09/11/2015Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Lady Hermon10/11/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Natalie McGarry16/11/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron18/11/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi20/11/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard30/11/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby28/01/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.