Parliament Website

Detention Of Trade Unionists And Workers' Rights Advocates In Guangzhou

EDM number 962 in 2015-16, proposed by George Kerevan on 14/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and Human rights.

That this House notes with concern the detention by the Chinese authorities of leading trade union activists and workers' rights advocates in Guangzhou, China, despite none of those involved having advocated or taken part in any violent acts; further notes well-verified sources quoted in the Financial Times and New York Times explaining these arrests as the authorities' response to rising labour unrest in southern China; notes that normally well-informed Hong Kong civil rights circles have described this as the harshest crackdown against organised labour in China in two decades; notes that those detained include Zeng Feiyang, lawyer and director of the Panyu Workers' Centre in Guangzhou, Zhu Xiaomei, labour organiser and He Xiaobo, member of an NGO in Foshan that aids workers injured in industrial accidents; condemns the fact that those known to have been detained have been denied contact with their lawyers; calls on President Xi Jinping and the Chinese authorities to respect and enforce the fundamental labour and democratic rights enshrined in the International Labour Organisation Convention; and further calls on the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs to make urgent representations to the Chinese government regarding the treatment of those detained.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

George Kerevan14/01/2016East LothianScottish National PartyProposed
Mark Durkan18/01/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan18/01/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin18/01/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford18/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens18/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally19/01/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray19/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley19/01/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie19/01/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lisa Cameron19/01/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns19/01/2016GatesheadLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley19/01/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Shannon19/01/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Michael Weir20/01/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell20/01/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara20/01/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black20/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry21/01/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law21/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald21/01/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson22/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson25/01/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day25/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon25/01/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Jim Cunningham26/01/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson04/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.