Parliament Website

James Watt And The Condensing Steam Engine

EDM number 990 in 2015-16, proposed by Ronnie Cowan on 21/01/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Science.

That this House celebrates 250 years since the invention of the condensing steam engine by Greenock-born inventor James Watt; appreciates that Watt's improvements to the steam engine enabled the industrial revolution, and a significant advancement of our scientific knowledge to take place; believes that Watt's achievements in the fields of science and engineering were fundamental to the wealth that our society enjoys today; acknowledges Watt's membership of the Royal Society and the Royal Society of Edinburgh; and notes that the anniversary of this notable scientific milestone is an opportunity to increase recognition of James Watt and his important legacy in Inverclyde and beyond.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Ronnie Cowan21/01/2016InverclydeScottish National PartyProposed
Chris Law21/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Marion Fellows21/01/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySeconded
Michelle Thomson21/01/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson21/01/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley21/01/2016Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Paul Monaghan22/01/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day25/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz25/01/2016Leicester EastLabourSigned
Lady Hermon25/01/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Ian Blackford26/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham26/01/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens26/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black26/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins26/01/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Kirsty Blackman26/01/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir26/01/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier26/01/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil26/01/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/01/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Neil Gray28/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson28/01/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson28/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson29/01/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry01/02/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan01/02/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan01/02/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale01/02/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Phil Boswell01/02/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson04/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.