Parliament Website

Access To Justice On Environmental Matters

EDM number 1006 in 2016-17, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 01/03/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Environmental protection and International law.

That this House takes notes of the UNECE Aarhus Convention, to which the UK is signatory, and notes the importance of access to justice in environmental matters; further notes the Second Progress Report of January 2017 by the Aarhus Convention Compliance Committee which finds that the UK is still not in compliance with its obligations under that Convention with regard to the prohibitively high cost of legal action; expresses concern at the Government's decision to remove the fixed-cost caps for legal challenges on environmental issues which will deter the vast majority of individuals, community groups and civil society organisations from bringing environmental cases for fear of a considerable financial charge; believes that the UK is entering a period of great uncertainty with regards to our environmental protections, and that the Government should be seeking to replace and strengthen the access to justice mechanisms previously provided by the institutions of the EU; supports the legal challenge to the removal of the fixed-cost caps by the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds, Friends of the Earth and ClientEarth; and calls on the Government to respect its obligations under the Aarhus Convention and abandon plans to abolish fixed-cost caps on environmental issues.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Caroline Lucas01/03/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Liz Saville Roberts01/03/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Roger Godsiff01/03/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSeconded
Tim Farron01/03/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McNally01/03/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan02/03/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens02/03/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins02/03/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry02/03/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie06/03/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Nicolson06/03/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale06/03/2017MansfieldLabourSigned
Mary Creagh06/03/2017WakefieldLabourSigned
06/03/2017Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Hannah Bardell06/03/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry06/03/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson06/03/2017Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin06/03/2017Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Tom Brake06/03/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Brown06/03/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond06/03/2017Signed
Angus MacNeil06/03/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir06/03/2017AngusScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law06/03/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford07/03/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Norman Lamb07/03/2017North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gethins07/03/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan07/03/2017FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Cunningham07/03/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell08/03/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry08/03/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss08/03/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Doughty09/03/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge09/03/2017BarkingLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael13/03/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Owen Thompson13/03/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon13/03/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Gavin Newlands29/03/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell30/03/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.