Parliament Website

Targeted Attacks On Medical Facilities In Syria

EDM number 230 in 2016-17, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 15/06/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Health services, Middle East and Military operations.

That this House notes with very great concern the ongoing targeting of medical facilities in Syria by airstrikes carried out by the Russian Air Force and by Assad regime forces; further notes that doctors, nurses, healthcare workers, patients and civilians have been killed in huge numbers as a result of these barbaric and unjustifiable attacks; notes that these attacks make it much more difficult for Syrian civilians to access essential healthcare within their own country; observes that schools and other civilian infrastructure have also been targeted, leading to loss of life among teachers and children; further observes that these attacks are very accurate and that the targeting of civilian infrastructure is deliberate; notes that this contravenes international law and the rules of warfare, including the Geneva Conventions which call for parties to conflict to take action to ensure the safety of medical teams operating in warzones; condemns in the strongest possible terms the deliberate targeting of medical facilities and medical workers; calls on the Russian government to respect the Geneva Conventions, to which it is a State Party, and immediately desist from targeting attacks at civilians, the wounded or at those carrying out medical or humanitarian work; and calls on the Government to do all it can to support medics and humanitarian organisations operating in Syria and to protect healthcare workers and civilians.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Roger Godsiff15/06/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins20/06/2016Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Brendan O'Hara20/06/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan27/06/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Alasdair McDonnell27/06/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier27/06/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day27/06/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil27/06/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law27/06/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham28/06/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell28/06/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald28/06/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens28/06/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon28/06/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
John Nicolson28/06/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale28/06/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Mark Durkan28/06/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Gethins29/06/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon29/06/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Stuart McDonald29/06/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson30/06/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss04/07/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson04/07/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Tasmina Sheikh04/07/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson04/07/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley05/07/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley19/07/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Drew Hendry05/09/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry05/09/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby13/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.