Parliament Website

Performance Management Systems In The Civil Service

EDM number 255 in 2016-17, proposed by Chris Stephens on 28/06/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Civil Service, Employment and Industrial relations.

That this House believes that performance management systems operating in central government departments are discriminatory and unfair; recognises that analysis of the government data by academics from Keele University indicates that there are statistically significant differences in performance outcomes based on gender, age, grade and working patterns and, particularly, in relation to disability and ethnicity; is concerned that the policy of forced, or guided, distribution whereby a predetermined 10 per cent of staff receive the bottom box marking, directly discriminates against staff from protected characteristic groups; is aware that a survey carried out by the Public and Commercial Services union, found that over 90 per cent of members who responded think the forced ranking system is unfair and over 60 per cent described their overall experience of performance management as mainly negative; welcomes the decision the Valuation Office Agency has taken for the 2016-17 performance year to remove guided distribution of performance markings and box markings, and to replace formal mid-year and end-of-year performance reviews with informal monthly performance reviews; and calls on other government departments and agencies to follow this example to ensure performance is managed in a way that is supportive of staff, enables them to reach their full potential, and involves trades unions in evaluation of the process.

This motion has been signed by a total of 67 MPs.

Chris Stephens28/06/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Mary Glindon28/06/2016North TynesideLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards28/06/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Caroline Lucas28/06/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Michael Weir28/06/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley28/06/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Alan Meale29/06/2016MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon29/06/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day04/07/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson04/07/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil04/07/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows04/07/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry04/07/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan04/07/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley05/07/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray05/07/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham05/07/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Margaret Ferrier05/07/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law05/07/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig05/07/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson06/07/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry06/07/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon06/07/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Patricia Gibson07/07/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald11/07/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson11/07/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff11/07/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Deidre Brock11/07/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Frank Field11/07/2016BirkenheadLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry11/07/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard11/07/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh11/07/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron11/07/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan12/07/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin13/07/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Yvonne Fovargue18/07/2016MakerfieldLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman18/07/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson18/07/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Jess Phillips20/07/2016Birmingham, YardleyLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands21/07/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty05/09/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald05/09/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Catherine McKinnell05/09/2016Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie05/09/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Mearns05/09/2016GatesheadLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell05/09/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper05/09/2016West LancashireLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson05/09/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Hannah Bardell05/09/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan05/09/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown05/09/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen McCabe05/09/2016Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Kirsten Oswald05/09/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Valerie Vaz05/09/2016Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton05/09/2016Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury05/09/2016Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Graham Stringer05/09/2016Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Angus Robertson05/09/2016MorayScottish National PartySigned
John McNally05/09/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Nick Brown06/09/2016Newcastle upon Tyne EastLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer07/09/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Chuka Umunna12/09/2016StreathamLabourSigned
Kate Hoey12/09/2016VauxhallLabourSigned
Patrick Grady15/09/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson15/09/2016Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Albert Owen10/10/2016Ynys MLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/10/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.