Parliament Website

Professor Mike Nicholson And Kidney Transplantation Research

EDM number 268 in 2016-17, proposed by Yasmin Qureshi on 29/06/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Health services, Research and innovation and Science.

That this House expresses its most sincere congratulations to Professor Mike Nicholson at the University of Cambridge for his pioneering research in kidney transplantation, which has already had a positive impact on the lives of kidney patients in the UK; commends Professor Nicholson for advancing the normothermic (warm) perfusion technique which warms and flushes the donor kidney to restore metabolism and function prior to transplantation; notes that this has allowed for the successful transplantation of kidneys previously declined by all UK transplant centres; and further notes that this work has been made possible by funding from Kidney Research UK and will help even more people live free from the life-limiting effects of kidney disease.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Yasmin Qureshi29/06/2016Bolton South EastLabourProposed
Jim Shannon30/06/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan30/06/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie04/07/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Chris Law04/07/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss04/07/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Cowan04/07/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell04/07/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Patrick Grady04/07/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald04/07/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Tom Elliott04/07/2016Fermanagh and South TyroneUUPSigned
Alan Meale04/07/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
David Simpson05/07/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Brown05/07/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Khalid Mahmood05/07/2016Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned
Chris Stephens05/07/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty06/07/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon06/07/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Natalie McGarry06/07/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan06/07/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier07/07/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Sammy Wilson11/07/2016East AntrimDUPSigned
Deidre Brock11/07/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson11/07/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
David Amess12/07/2016Southend WestConservativeSigned
Roger Mullin12/07/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin14/07/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Julie Cooper19/07/2016BurnleyLabourSigned
Norman Lamb19/07/2016North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosena Allin-Khan21/07/2016TootingLabourSigned
Mark Williams05/09/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Geraint Davies10/10/2016Swansea WestLabourSigned
David Crausby13/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.