Parliament Website

Office Of Electoral Integrity

EDM number 278 in 2016-17, proposed by Norman Lamb on 04/07/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Elections and Political parties.

That this House welcomes the petition on the website, entitled Restore truthful politics - create an independent office to monitor political campaigns; notes that this petition has gained more than 160,000 signatures since it was launched following the EU referendum; agrees that misleading claims put forward during the referendum campaign undermine the integrity of our democratic system; supports the call for the establishment of an independent Office of Electoral Integrity (OEI) to factually verify the truthfulness of claims made during political campaigns, with powers to issue clarifications and fines where appropriate; believes that this will help to ensure that future elections and referenda are contested on the basis of accurate and verifiable facts, strengthen accountability in political campaigning in the UK and restore faith in the democratic process; and urges the Government to consider the merits of creating an OEI and provide a response to the petition as soon as possible.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Norman Lamb04/07/2016North NorfolkLiberal DemocratProposed
Alistair Carmichael04/07/2016Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Lammy04/07/2016TottenhamLabourSeconded
Alan Meale04/07/2016MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham05/07/2016Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Ruth Cadbury05/07/2016Brentford and IsleworthLabourSeconded
Greg Mulholland05/07/2016Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Field06/07/2016BirkenheadLabourSigned
Lady Hermon06/07/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Jonathan Edwards06/07/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff06/07/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mark Williams07/07/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Jamie Reed07/07/2016CopelandLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts07/07/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
John Pugh07/07/2016SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Colleen Fletcher07/07/2016Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield07/07/2016Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Catherine West11/07/2016Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn11/07/2016JarrowLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/07/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Mark Tami11/07/2016Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Chris Evans11/07/2016IslwynLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth11/07/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Chuka Umunna11/07/2016StreathamLabourSigned
Jim Dowd12/07/2016Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge12/07/2016BarkingLabourSigned
Chris Elmore12/07/2016OgmoreLabourSigned
Emma Lewell-Buck13/07/2016South ShieldsLabourSigned
Mary Glindon13/07/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz13/07/2016Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter13/07/2016HammersmithLabourSigned
Hywel Williams13/07/2016ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Albert Owen14/07/2016Ynys MLabourSigned
Kevin Barron14/07/2016Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Graham Stringer19/07/2016Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Julie Cooper19/07/2016BurnleyLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell19/07/2016Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Graham Jones19/07/2016HyndburnLabourSigned
Kevin Brennan19/07/2016Cardiff WestLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham20/07/2016Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Rosena Allin-Khan21/07/2016TootingLabourSigned
Yvonne Fovargue21/07/2016MakerfieldLabourSigned
Alison McGovern05/09/2016Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Nick Thomas-Symonds05/09/2016TorfaenLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper05/09/2016West LancashireLabourSigned
Ian Mearns05/09/2016GatesheadLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas06/09/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Geraint Davies10/10/2016Swansea WestLabourSigned
David Crausby13/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Robert Flello07/02/2017Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.