Parliament Website

Violence In Burundi

EDM number 366 in 2016-17, proposed by Joanna Cherry on 20/07/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Africa and International politics and government.

That this House notes and condemns the escalating political violence in Burundi; highlights the alarming number of alleged killings, torture, arbitrary arrests and enforced disappearances that have occurred there since President Nkurunziza defied the constitution and stood for a third term in office in April 2015; recognises that over 250,000 Burundians have fled to refugee camps in Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo; and calls on the UN, AU and the international community to redouble efforts to bring about peace and see the country return to stable governance.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs.

Joanna Cherry20/07/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Hannah Bardell20/07/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Tasmina Sheikh20/07/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Newlands20/07/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Owen Thompson20/07/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson20/07/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford20/07/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald20/07/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin20/07/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray20/07/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson20/07/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/07/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry20/07/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock20/07/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford20/07/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin20/07/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty20/07/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
John McNally20/07/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day20/07/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier20/07/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson20/07/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir20/07/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman20/07/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady20/07/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/07/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald20/07/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant20/07/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black20/07/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson20/07/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell20/07/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson20/07/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley20/07/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara20/07/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss20/07/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows20/07/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law20/07/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan20/07/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard20/07/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon21/07/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Angus MacNeil05/09/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon05/09/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Chris Stephens05/09/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale06/09/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Paul Monaghan06/09/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond07/09/2016Signed
Fiona Bruce07/09/2016CongletonConservativeSigned
Jim Cunningham07/09/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty08/09/2016Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.