Parliament Website

Domestic Abuse Survivors And Anonymous Electoral Registration

EDM number 485 in 2016-17, proposed by Marie Rimmer on 10/10/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Charities, Children and families, Crimes of violence and Electoral register.

That this House believes that current legislation for anonymous electoral registration disenfranchises a large proportion of domestic abuse survivors; commends the campaign by Women's Aid and Mehala Osborne to change the current legislation; notes that many domestic abuse survivors do not involve the police or courts in their own circumstances and instead choose only to involve charities, medical professionals or refuges; further believes that those individuals qualified to provide an attestation for anonymous registration are not accessible to most domestic abuse survivors; believes that medical professionals and refuge managers should be able to provide an attestation; expresses concern that annual individual electoral registration will force survivors to go through this process every year to remain registered; further notes that exemptions to annual registration exist for members of the armed forces; welcomes the Cabinet Office Minister's announcement that the Government will look closely at this issue; and calls for the Government to act urgently to update legislation to ensure domestic abuse survivors are not disenfranchised from the democratic process.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Maria Eagle01/01/2016Garston and HalewoodLabourSigned
Lady Hermon05/01/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Caroline Lucas05/01/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jim Dowd05/01/2016Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop05/01/2016Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer10/10/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourProposed
Siobhain McDonagh10/10/2016Mitcham and MordenLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan10/10/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley10/10/2016Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Thangam Debbonaire10/10/2016Bristol WestLabourSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts11/10/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Chris Matheson11/10/2016City of ChesterLabourSigned
Chris Elmore11/10/2016OgmoreLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick11/10/2016Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Chris Stephens11/10/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
George Howarth11/10/2016KnowsleyLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner11/10/2016BolsoverLabourSigned
Bill Esterson11/10/2016Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson11/10/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Ruth Smeeth11/10/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Kate Hollern11/10/2016BlackburnLabourSigned
John Cryer11/10/2016Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Martyn Day11/10/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie12/10/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nigel Dodds12/10/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/10/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff12/10/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham12/10/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Wes Streeting12/10/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon13/10/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram13/10/2016Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Jamie Reed13/10/2016CopelandLabourSigned
Fiona Mactaggart17/10/2016SloughLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty17/10/2016Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Helen Goodman18/10/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands21/10/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil21/10/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown21/10/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond21/10/2016Signed
Chris Law21/10/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford24/10/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty24/10/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry24/10/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Tristram Hunt24/10/2016Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
John Nicolson24/10/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby25/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry25/10/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson26/10/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell27/10/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Gloria De Piero27/10/2016AshfieldLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins31/10/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant01/11/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes02/11/2016Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman21/11/2016HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell08/03/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.