Parliament Website

Business Rate Changes For Rooftop Solar

EDM number 491 in 2016-17, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 10/10/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Renewable energy and Taxation.

That this House notes the urgency of tackling climate change and the Government’s signing of the Paris Agreement; further notes the first International Energy Association annual report on global energy investment which warns that global investment in renewables needs to triple to meet the Paris Agreement commitments; takes note of the report from the Energy and Climate Change Committee warning that the UK’s existing 2020 renewable energy targets are unlikely to be met; expresses deep concern at the changes to the rateable value of rooftop photovoltaic solar panels being proposed by the Valuation Office Agency, which may result in a six to eight-fold increase in the business rate charges to businesses, community groups and schools for the use of their own rooftop solar across the UK; notes the popularity, importance and affordability of solar power; and calls on the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, the Department for Communities and Local Government and HM Treasury to take action to prevent unexpected and extreme business rate rises for solar and thus guarantee that the industry and its diverse investors are treated consistently to help ensure the rapid and cost-effective transition to a low-carbon UK economy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs.

Phil Boswell05/01/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson05/01/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Albert Owen05/01/2016Ynys MLabourSigned
Owen Thompson05/01/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas10/10/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Liz Saville Roberts10/10/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Roger Godsiff10/10/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSeconded
Zac Goldsmith10/10/2016Richmond ParkConservativeSeconded
John McNally10/10/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Tim Farron10/10/2016Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan10/10/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Pugh10/10/2016SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon11/10/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day11/10/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John Cryer11/10/2016Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry11/10/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards11/10/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Matheson11/10/2016City of ChesterLabourSigned
Michael Weir12/10/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/10/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan12/10/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell13/10/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland13/10/2016Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael13/10/2016Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen McCabe13/10/2016Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Tom Brake13/10/2016Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Warburton13/10/2016Somerton and FromeConservativeSigned
Mark Williams13/10/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon13/10/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Paul Flynn17/10/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham17/10/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard17/10/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Andy Slaughter17/10/2016HammersmithLabourSigned
Helen Goodman18/10/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Chris Law18/10/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr18/10/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron20/10/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald20/10/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Kate Green21/10/2016Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper24/10/2016West LancashireLabourSigned
Martin Docherty24/10/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby25/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma26/10/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins27/10/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson03/11/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Chuka Umunna07/11/2016StreathamLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman18/11/2016HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer18/11/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
John Mann21/11/2016BassetlawLabourSigned
Roger Mullin22/11/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson02/12/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Ian Murray08/12/2016Edinburgh SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.