Parliament Website

Supporting British Manufacturing

EDM number 65 in 2016-17, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 23/05/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Buses and Manufacturing industries.

That this House commends First Group plc for its decision, announced on 27 April 2016, to invest £70 million in the purchase of 305 new buses; notes that 204 of these buses will be built by ADL in Scotland and 91 by Wrightbus in Northern Ireland; recognises the benefits to British manufacturing that will be derived from 98 per cent of the First Group order being placed with businesses located in the UK; welcomes the continuing strong demand for new buses, trains, trams and other forms of sustainable transport; and calls on organisations from both the private and public sectors involved in the procurement of such vehicles to use their best endeavours to ensure that these are sourced from suppliers with manufacturing facilities located in the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins23/05/2016Luton NorthLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley23/05/2016Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Angus MacNeil24/05/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Robinson24/05/2016Belfast EastDUPSeconded
Chris Matheson24/05/2016City of ChesterLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon24/05/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Chris Stephens25/05/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows25/05/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson25/05/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Roger Mullin25/05/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
John McNally25/05/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn25/05/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell25/05/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Neil Gray25/05/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale25/05/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry25/05/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts26/05/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Margaret Beckett26/05/2016Derby SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock06/06/2016AberavonLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth06/06/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Owen Thompson06/06/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law06/06/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh06/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds07/06/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Lady Hermon08/06/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Kirsten Oswald08/06/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff08/06/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Angela Crawley08/06/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins09/06/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
David Amess13/06/2016Southend WestConservativeSigned
Stuart Donaldson13/06/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham13/06/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Patricia Gibson15/06/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown27/06/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson27/06/2016Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
David Crausby13/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.