Parliament Website

Support For Bedouin Villagers In The Negev

EDM number 728 in 2016-17, proposed by Tommy Sheppard on 28/11/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Ethnic groups, Housing and Middle East.

That this House is gravely concerned at plans by the Israeli government to demolish the Israeli-Arab village, Umm al-Hiran, in the Negev area of Israel; notes with dismay that it reportedly intends to evict the 500 Bedouin residents of the village, which has existed for nearly 60 years, with the aim of establishing a new, Jewish-only settlement named Hiran in its stead; considers that the Bedouin villagers are full citizens of Israel but are being treated as though they have no rights; further notes the reports that the Israeli government plans to charge the villagers for the cost of the demolition of their own homes; understands that village leaders say there is no need to evict them as the Jewish settlers can move onto a site next door and live as neighbours; and calls on the Israeli government to cease its harsh and unnecessary actions immediately.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Tommy Sheppard28/11/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartyProposed
Martin Docherty28/11/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Marie Rimmer28/11/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSeconded
Tom Brake28/11/2016Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Brown28/11/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier28/11/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Joanna Cherry28/11/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon28/11/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Peter Bottomley28/11/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Peter Grant28/11/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Chris Bryant28/11/2016RhonddaLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh28/11/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman28/11/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson28/11/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards28/11/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Patrick Grady28/11/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Desmond Swayne28/11/2016New Forest WestConservativeSigned
Alex Salmond29/11/2016Signed
Chris Law29/11/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan29/11/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Marion Fellows29/11/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan29/11/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil29/11/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir29/11/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr29/11/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray29/11/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald29/11/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara29/11/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale29/11/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell30/11/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts30/11/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens30/11/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Clive Betts30/11/2016Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Ian Blackford30/11/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas30/11/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Paul Monaghan30/11/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford30/11/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie01/12/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Nicolson01/12/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins01/12/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Richard Arkless01/12/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry05/12/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin05/12/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael05/12/2016Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Owen Thompson05/12/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Mark Hendrick05/12/2016PrestonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham06/12/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff09/01/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Clive Efford27/02/2017ElthamLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.