Parliament Website

Action To Tackle The Ivory Trade

EDM number 859 in 2016-17, proposed by John Mann on 13/01/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, International trade, Nature conservation and Wildlife.

That this House recognises that African elephants are facing an unprecedented crisis with an average of one killed every 15 minutes for their ivory; welcomes the action taken internationally by the Government to combat the ivory trade and protect elephants in their natural habitat; further recognises that both the illegal ivory trade and the existence of legal domestic markets are helping fuel this trade; notes that ivory, both legal and illegal, is being traded on a daily basis within the UK; further notes that illegal ivory items seized by police and the Border Force in the UK have been falsely antiqued, using artificial stains or ageing techniques, clearly destined for the legal antique market; notes that domestic ivory markets are known to provide cover for the illegal trade in ivory and also reinforce the high value of ivory across the world; notes that China has announced a domestic ivory trade ban by the end of 2017; and therefore calls on the Government to implement its commitment to press for a total ban on ivory sales and close down the UK ivory market, including that of antique ivory, with immediate effect.

This motion has been signed by a total of 69 MPs.

John Mann13/01/2017BassetlawLabourProposed
Wes Streeting16/01/2017Ilford NorthLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie16/01/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mark Durkan17/01/2017FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale17/01/2017MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon17/01/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts17/01/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens17/01/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan17/01/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Vernon Coaker17/01/2017GedlingLabourSigned
Lady Hermon17/01/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Jonathan Edwards17/01/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Patrick Grady17/01/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson17/01/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Brown18/01/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham18/01/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell18/01/2017East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ian Blackford18/01/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner19/01/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/01/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Albert Owen19/01/2017Ynys MLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson19/01/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell19/01/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan20/01/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas23/01/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick23/01/2017Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Tom Brake23/01/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Hilary Benn24/01/2017Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Mark Tami24/01/2017Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
John Nicolson25/01/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Cooper25/01/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard25/01/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman25/01/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Graham Jones26/01/2017HyndburnLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg26/01/2017Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson30/01/2017East AntrimDUPSigned
David Hanson30/01/2017DelynLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald01/02/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn01/02/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson01/02/2017Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry01/02/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff02/02/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Michael Weir02/02/2017AngusScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins02/02/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell02/02/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Dowd02/02/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Margaret Ferrier02/02/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
John Pugh02/02/2017SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds02/02/2017Belfast NorthDUPSigned
John Spellar02/02/2017WarleyLabourSigned
Richard Arkless03/02/2017Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Barry Sheerman03/02/2017HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Louise Ellman03/02/2017Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma06/02/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh06/02/2017Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Michael Dugher06/02/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock06/02/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Mark Williams06/02/2017CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Field06/02/2017BirkenheadLabourSigned
Grahame Morris06/02/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Drew Hendry07/02/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Jon Cruddas07/02/2017Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy07/02/2017WiganLabourSigned
Owen Smith07/02/2017PontypriddLabourSigned
Owen Thompson07/02/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Colleen Fletcher07/02/2017Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Chris Law07/02/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Paul Farrelly07/02/2017Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Deidre Brock08/02/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.