Parliament Website

Modern Universities

EDM number 900 in 2016-17, proposed by Wes Streeting on 31/01/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Higher education.

That this House recognises the contribution made by modern universities; celebrates the 25th anniversary of the Further and Higher Education Act 1992 and the Further and Higher Education (Scotland) Act 1992 which gave more people access to higher education across the UK; congratulates the staff, students and alumni of modern universities for their hard work, dedication and success over that period; acknowledges the high-quality teaching and world-class research across the modern university sector; further celebrates the global partnerships modern universities have developed all over the world; looks forward to even greater successes in the future; and will continue to support these institutions, and the students who attend them, as they serve to underline the diversity and strength of the UK's world-leading higher education sector.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Wes Streeting31/01/2017Ilford NorthLabourProposed
Jim Shannon01/02/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins01/02/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Alasdair McDonnell01/02/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Caroline Lucas01/02/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Jim Cunningham02/02/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Nigel Dodds02/02/2017Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Margaret Ferrier03/02/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell03/02/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil03/02/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond03/02/2017Signed
John Nicolson03/02/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens06/02/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts06/02/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Deidre Brock06/02/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz06/02/2017Leicester EastLabourSigned
Ian Blackford06/02/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry06/02/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown06/02/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma07/02/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Lady Hermon07/02/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Paul Monaghan07/02/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Danny Kinahan07/02/2017South AntrimUUPSigned
Tasmina Sheikh07/02/2017Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan07/02/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale07/02/2017MansfieldLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry08/02/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell08/02/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Mark Williams08/02/2017CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie08/02/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/02/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara20/02/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby22/02/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands24/02/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Ruth Smeeth27/02/2017Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell30/03/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.